Writers from the Other Europe

Writers from the Other Europe is a book series edited by Philip Roth and published by Penguin between 1974 and 1989 that aimed to introduce western readers to lesser-known writers from eastern Europe.

Here’s a list of titles:

Andrzejewski, Jerzy. Ashes and Diamonds
Borowski, Tadeusz. This Way to the Gas, Ladies and Gentlemen
Csath, Geza. Opium and Other Stories
Gombrowicz, Witold. Ferdydurke
Hrabal, Bohumil. Closely Watched Trains
Kis, Danilo. A Tomb for Boris Davidovich
Konrad, Gyorgy. The Case Worker
Konrad, Gyorgy. The City Builder
Konwicki, Tadeusz. A Dreambook for Our Time
Konwicki, Tadeusz. The Polish Complex
Kundera, Milan. Laughable Loves
Kundera, Milan. The Book of Laughter and Forgetting
Kundera, Milan. The Farewell Party
Kundera, Milan. The Joke
Schulz, Bruno. Sanatorium Under the Sign of the Hourglass
Schulz, Bruno. The Street of Crocodiles
Vaculik, Ludvik. The Guinea Pigs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s